Love Languages

In the past few months, I have become really interested in relationships. I'm always looking for resources to better my own relationship, you can never be too prepared, right? A few years ago I learned about Gary Chapman's 5 Love Languages. This is a simple test [you can take it HERE] that gives you an analysis of your emotional communication preference. It breaks down how strong each emotional communication preference is and gives you information on it. I took the test a while back, but could not remember my results.

Having a slow day at work today, I decided to retake it and have Matt do the same.

Since Matt and I are SO similar (we both have one of the most rare Myers-Briggs personality types, INFJ) I was not surprised that we have the same love language. Both of us have a strong preferences for quality time meaning we feel most loved when we are given each other's full attention and time. The results give a nice description of this love language:

In the vernacular of Quality Time, nothing says, “I love you,” like full, undivided attention. Being there for this type of person is critical, but really being there–with the TV off, fork and knife down, and all chores and tasks on standby–makes your significant other feel truly special and loved. Distractions, postponed dates, or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful. Quality time also means sharing quality conversation and quality activities.

I think it is really important to do this with your loved ones, especially if you have different love languages. It will help you to love each other more fully. I think we just got lucky that we have the same love language, but regardless I plan to keep this in mind more often so that I can love Matt the best to my ability. Although I think our shared interests make it really easy for us to spend quality time together, there is always room for improvement. I pray to be more intentional from here on out.
If you're curious, my other profile scores are as follows:

5 Words of Affirmation

6 Receiving Gifts

6 Acts of Service

3 Physical Touch

No comments :

Post a Comment

I would love to hear from you! I try to respond to all comments.