11.15.2014

eShakti Review

eShatki dress
Ladies, I HATE shopping. It seems like every time I get really excited to go shopping, I can never find anything. But when I don't want to spend money on clothes, I seem to fall in love with EVERYTHING? AM I RIGHT. Anyways, this usually prevents me from going out shopping (unless I have a strange amount of patience that day).

When I heard about eShatki, I was intrigued. Honestly, it mostly sounded great because I could order custom clothing ONLINE. No trying on a million things at the store, fighting lines, or navigating my way through MASSIVE amounts of clothing racks.

Also, I've really been in need of some more business casual pieces for work. Dresses are always a go-to, but it can be hard to find dresses with sleeves that cover my tattoo. So you know I was excited when I found out I could customize an eShatki dress to have sleeves! Who knew?!

I was SO excited to get my dress in the mail. It came incredibly fast considering it is custom sized. Unfortunately, when it arrived, the cardboard packaging my dress was in was SOAKING wet. Luckily, the dress was in a sealed plastic bag inside.

The bad luck didn't stop there. Although I was IN LOVE with the dress (and got SO MANY amazing compliments about it), it started to fall apart within hours. First, I tried it on and noticed the waist was pretty large on me. Since I already have a hard time finding things that fit me, this was frustrating. Luckily, the belt it came with solved that problem. However, then I noticed that some of the threads were loose. No biggie, right? I can fix that. THEN, the top button of the dress fell off while I was SITTING in a chair. Sitting. As the day went on, I realized how poorly made the belt was. It wouldn't stay latched and kept coming undone. Classy.

I have felt really torn writing this review. On the one hand, I hate writing negative reviews about companies that send me their product to try. However, what I hate even more is being dishonest with my readers.

I promptly contacted eShatki's Media Relations before writing this post to let them know what had happened. They were incredibly accommodating and offered to send me prepaid return labels, alter the dress to my size, and send it back. If I didn't want to do that, I could send this dress back and pick a whole new one. I told them no because I can honestly fix these things myself and rather not go through the trouble. The belt can be replaced, and alterations can be made.

I debated about whether or not to write this post at all. Since eShatki isn't cheap, I decided that sharing my opinion might be useful to someone wondering whether or not to spend the money.

Here's the bottom line. Based on my experience, the dress is LOVELY. It's absolutely what I wanted and it's beautiful. However, it did not fit properly and seemed poorly made.

That being said, if you would still like to check out eShatki, I encourage you to do so. This was only my experience and I hope that it was only a rare case!

Have you ever written a negative review and shared it with your readers?

eShatki dress

eShatki dress

I received these products for free in exchange for my review. All opinions are honest and my own.

post signature
Hello Neverland

44 comments :

  1. I am so glad to find a negative review of this site. I received a dress from this exact company months ago that was the wrong size. When I tried to exchange it, they gave me such grief that I told them to keep their dress. I would much rather sew my own dress to make it fit, then deal with them again. PS I don't think "custom made" is true.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've purchased a few skirts from them and had a great experience. But I haven't shopped there in a long time.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love that you are honest. I would hate to write a negative review...but review are about honesty. The dress is gorgeous though, but thank you for the honesty!!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I really like that dress! I recently received a dress from eShakti as well, and am lucky to have had a good experience. Thanks for being honest about your experience. Like you said, if you were to purchase a dress from eShakti, they're not cheap, so its good that people are informed beforehand.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I have to admit the dress does look really pretty on you! I love that you were so honest with the review. Yes, I had a great experience but we all know that can't always be the case and people need to see the reality of things. A company can't have 5 stars ALL the time!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm glad I'm not alone. I doubted the "custom made" thing too. And it shipped from India?

    ReplyDelete
  7. It maybe was just a rare experience!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Thank you for your encouragement. I hope this was helpful!

    ReplyDelete
  9. It really is a beautiful dress which is why I was so disappointed! Glad to hear you had a better experience.

    ReplyDelete
  10. So true! I do love the dress and it will work fine with a few alterations and maybe a more sturdy belt :)

    ReplyDelete
  11. Awww, I'm sorry that it didn't work for you! That stinks but really appreciate your honest review about. My experience was great but like Melissa said a company can't always have 5 star. I'm just sorry you had to have the experience. :( I really love how the dress looks on you though. So pretty!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I knowwww such a bummer. Like I told Melissa, with a few adjustments it should be ok, but I would never pay this much for a dress of this quality. But thanks lady!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Aww so disappointing!! I had a great experience with them, but I'm glad you shared an honest review.

    ReplyDelete
  14. I know right. It's nice to hear this hasn't been a consistent thing with the company, maybe it was just bad luck!

    ReplyDelete
  15. First off, the dress is adorable on you! I wish you hadn't had problems with eShakti. I received a dress from them a couple weeks ago which was perfect, and I have a friend that's brought dresses from them multiple times and really like them. Hopefully this is uncommon.



    Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  16. I have heard such mixed things. Thanks for sharing your take! And for reading :)

    ReplyDelete
  17. Aww what a bummer! I'm sorry you had those issues :( It looked great on you though from what I see in the photos!! Honest reviews are the best...there's no point in reviews if people are going to lie about their experience.

    ReplyDelete
  18. Aw, that sucks. That dress looks incredible on you! It's adorable. I recently got a piece from eShakti, too, but I had a really great experience. The shirt was really high quality - not cheap-feeling at all, really well put together, and fit pretty close to perfect. I'm glad that you were honest, though! Because based on pictures, you could have lied and said that it was perfect.

    ReplyDelete
  19. I believe so. I am not 100% certain, though.

    ReplyDelete
  20. oh no! I hate when this happens especially when you are looking forward to something!! It looks super cute on you and that print is precious!! Love your honesty!

    ReplyDelete
  21. I'm so glad you had a good experience! It really is a great dress. I would have cared more if I had paid the $140 or something crazy it is sold for!

    ReplyDelete
  22. Thanks lady! Glad I didn't sound awful by giving a negative review haha

    ReplyDelete
  23. I completely appreciate you for giving an honest and truthful review! The dress looks great on you, and the pattern is so lovely! It's too bad that the quality isn't there. I've worked with eShakti, too, but I had a much better experience. I'm sorry it wasn't that great for you!


    By the way, I think I have those same boots! They look great with that dress!

    ReplyDelete
  24. I'm just happy to hear you had a positive experience! And THANKS I love those boots they are the best!

    ReplyDelete
  25. Oh no, I hate that you had a bad experience! I reviewed my dress with them last week and loved it. I'm so glad you were honest about it though :) There's a book I'm about to review and it ain't.so.hot.... we will see how it goes! Have to be honest ;) You still look cute!!!!!

    ReplyDelete
  26. Thanks Whitney! I'm sure you'll handle the book review with perfect grace. You'll have to send me the link when it's live!

    ReplyDelete
  27. Hayley GildersleeveNovember 16, 2014 at 5:34 PM

    I had never heard of this company until reading this! I'm super intrigued. I'm sorry you had a bad experience, but like most everyone has said, that dress is SO cute on you! But thank you for your honesty :) I really appreciate it!

    ReplyDelete
  28. Haha thanks Hayley. It really is a beautiful dress!

    ReplyDelete
  29. The dress looks great! I hate that it fell apart! I have one dress from them, but I really wish that I'd ordered it in a shorter option because it needs heels when it's long (it's a summer dress).

    ReplyDelete
  30. Ahh- they might still do alterations for you!

    ReplyDelete
  31. It looks great but thank you for being honest! I am pretty sure I am the only blogger they have never offered a dress to!

    ReplyDelete
  32. Well, consider it a good thing according to my experience hahaha. I actually thought I was the only one that hadn't been offered a dress too hahaha

    ReplyDelete
  33. I'm sorry you had a bad experience girl! The dress is lovely on you though, hopefully you can make the fixes!

    ReplyDelete
  34. Shouldn't be too hard to do but I would never spend the money on something that needed all this work!

    ReplyDelete
  35. I love the dress and think it looks great on you but feel bad you had a rough experience. I have to say that I fully appreciate your honesty about any product you are sent to review. I want to hear the good, the bad,and the ugly. It seems like their customer service is wonderful though and very accommodating but if the product isn't made well that doesn't really matter right?

    ReplyDelete
  36. Exactly. It's funny because I contacted them and they offered to sent me return labels and do the alterations or pay for them if I had them done. I told them I would just fix it myself instead of going through the trouble to return it. Today, I looked in my inbox and they had e-mailed me a return label through UPS.... weird.

    ReplyDelete
  37. they contacted me to do a review too...and it felt weird.
    i'm not really sure how to explain it, but the whole process seemed ...hmmm....interesting?
    i'm so sorry this was the case with your experience. i chose to not go with them after a few communication issues.

    ReplyDelete
  38. Oh my gosh, so weird right? Hopefully now you feel relieved after reading this haha

    ReplyDelete
  39. not going to lie - i totally do hahahaha.

    ReplyDelete
  40. I wrote a review for eshakti I love it!!

    ReplyDelete
  41. Glad to hear you had a better experience

    ReplyDelete
  42. OK, so yeah that dress is LOVELY! But that is SO disappointing about its condition. I had sizing issues with mine as well, but you had issues beyond that. I'm glad to hear your side though and totally appreciate the honesty. Interesting.

    ReplyDelete
  43. Thanks Amanda, it wasn't easy to write!

    ReplyDelete

I would love to hear from you! I try to respond to all comments.